top of page

The state rabbinate

Rabbis teach and inspire us. They help us orientate ourselves in our identification as Jews. In Saxony too, the three major streams of Judaism - liberal, conservative and orthodox Judaism -  at home. Our three rabbis represent this diversity and can bring different perspectives to the discourse, your questions and concerns.

Rabbi Akiva Weingarten

Rabbi Akiva Weingarten

State Rabbi (liberal)

Akiva Weingarten comes from the Hasidic Satmar community in New York. At the age of 18, he went to Israel, where he lived for 10 years before leaving the ultra-Orthodox community to study Jewish studies in Germany at the Abrahm Geiger College at the University of Potsdam. Since 2019, he has lived in Dresden and is active as a rabbi and founder of various Jewish institutions.

Rabbi Esther Jonas-Märtens

Rabbi Esther Jonas-Märtens

State Rabbi (conservative)

Esther Jonas-Märtin is the founder of the Beth Etz Chaim teaching center in Leipzig. She studied Jewish studies, literary studies, modern history and religious studies in Leipzig and Potsdam, among other subjects. She completed her Master of Arts in Rabbinics in Los Angeles in 2017 and was subsequently ordained as a rabbi.

Rabbi Schneor Havlin

Rabbi Schneor Havlin

Advisory Rabbi (Orthodox)

[...]

bottom of page

top of page

Das Landesrabbinat

Rabbiner:innen lehren und inspirieren uns. Sie helfen uns bei der Orientierung in unserer Identifikation als Jüdinnen und Juden. Auch in Sachsen sind die drei großen Strömungen des Judentums - das liberale, das konservative und das orthodoxe Judentum -  zuhause. Unsere drei Rabbiner:innen repräsentieren diese Vielfalt und können unterschiedliche Perspektiven in den Diskurs, Ihre Fragen und Anliegen einbringen.

Rabbi Akiva Weingarten

Rabbi Akiva Weingarten

Landesrabbiner (liberal)

Akiva Weingarten stammt aus der chassidischen Satmar-Gemeinschaft in New York. Mit 18 Jahren ging er nach Israel, wo er 10 Jahre lang lebte bevor er die ultra-orthodoxe Gemeinschaft verließ, um in Deutschland am Abrahm-Geiger-Kolleg der Universität Potsdam Jüdische Studien zu studieren. Seit 2019 ist er in Dresden zuhause und als Rabbiner und Gründer diverser jüdischer Einrichtungen aktiv.

Rabbi Esther Jonas-Märtin

Rabbi Esther Jonas-Märtin

Landesrabbinerin (Masorti)

Esther Jonas-Märtin ist Gründerin des Lehrhauses Beth Etz Chaim in Leipzig. Sie studierte unteranderem Jüdische Studien, Literaturwissenschaf, Moderne Geschichte und Religionswissenschaften in Leipzig und Potsdam. In Los Angeles schloss sie 2017 den Master of Arts in Rabbinics ab und wurde anschließend zur Rabbinerin ordiniert.

Rabbi Schneor Havlin

Rabbi Schneor Havlin

Landesrabbiner (charedi, ultraorthodox)

Geboren in Jerusalem, studierte er an der Yeshiva Torat Emet in Jerusalem und an der Yeshiva Tomchei Temmimim Lubavitch in Kiryat Gat. Im Jahr 2016 ging er für ein Jahr in die Chabbad-Zentrale 770 in Crown Heights und war dann auf einer Mission im Bundesstaat Texas, USA.

Am ersten Tag des Nissan 2010 weihte Rabbi Havlin das Gebäude des Chabad-Hauses unter seiner Leitung ein. Das Gebäude umfasst eine elegante Mikwe, eine große Synagoge, einen Veranstaltungssaal, eine chassidische Bibliothek und mehr.

bottom of page